Summer of ’69

One of my favourite songs… "Summer of ’69," sung by Bryan Adams, full of the atmosphere recalling the memories of whether rejoicings or wonderment in everyone’s youth.  This is a song that brings me back to my college life and brings my memories of youth alive again.  Love it !!!
 
Summer Of ’69
Lyrics:Bryan Adams/Jim Vallance Music:Bryan Adams/Jim Vallance

I got my first real six-string,
Bought it at the five-and-dime,
Played it till my fingers bled,
It was the summer of ’69.
Me and some guys from school
Had a band and we tried real hard.
Jimmy quit and Jodie got married,
I shoulda known we’d never get far.

Oh, when I look back now, And if I had the choice,
Yeah, I’d always wanna be there,
Those were the best days of my life.

Ain’t no use in complainin’
When you’ve got a job to do,
Spent my evening’s down at the drive-in,
And that’s where I met you.

Standin’ at your mama’s porch,
You told me that you’d wait forever,
And when you held my hand
I knew that it was now or never,
Those were the best days of my life.
Back in the summer of ’69.
Man, we were killin’ time,
We were young and restless,
We needed to unwind.
I guess nothin’ can last forever,
Forever, no.

And now the times are a-chanign’,
Look at everything that’s come and gone.
Every time I play that old six-string,
Think about you, wonder what went wrong.

Standin’ by your mama’s porch,
You told me it would last forever.
Oh, the way you held my hand,
I knew that it was now or never.
Those were the best days of my life.

Back in the summer of ’69.

#### CITE FROM ‘so61 lyrics DB’  http://so61.com/

2 則迴響 (+add yours?)

  1. heiying1
    二月 15, 2006 @ 21:01:52

    Dear Cris,
     
    You have the talents for writing. I love your article regarding the time change a lot. ^__^
     
    Bryan Adams is one of my favorite singer. I am very fond of his another song…"18 til I die" Have you heard it before?

    回應

  2. Cristina
    二月 26, 2006 @ 21:12:09

    Dear Estelle,
    I have his album of  "Anthology" but strangely, "18 til I Die" is not in that album. Would you please tell me in which album it is released?  I\’d love to listen to it.

    回應

發表迴響

